2005 IEEE Annual Elections

URL: http://www.ieee.org/elections

PISCATAWAY, N.J., 4 Nov. -- Leah H. Jamieson, Ransburg Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and associate dean of Engineering for Undergraduate Education at Purdue University in West Lafayette, Ind., has been selected as 2006 IEEE president-elect. Pending acceptance of the Teller's Committee report by the IEEE Board of Directors, Jamieson will begin serving as IEEE president on 1 Jan. 2007. She will succeed 2006 IEEE President Michael R. Lightner, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the College of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Of the 253,788 ballots mailed, 36,576 valid ballots (14.41 percent) were returned. This compares with the 2004 return of 13.99 percent. All results are unofficial until the IEEE Board of Directors accepts the report of the Teller's Committee during the 13 Nov. Board meeting.

The other two candidates for IEEE president-elect were Gerald Peterson, senior manager emeritus at Lucent Technologies Bell Labs, in Holmdel, N.J., and James M. Tien, Yamada Corporation Professor at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, N.Y. Jamieson and Peterson were nominated by the IEEE Board of Directors. Tien was nominated by petition. Of the members who voted, 15,965 selected Jamieson, 10,723 selected Peterson. Tien received 9,301 votes.

Jamieson, an IEEE Fellow, is only the second woman in the history of the IEEE to be chosen for the president-elect position. An IEEE member for 30 years, she presently serves on the IEEE Board of Directors and Executive Committee. She is a member of the Strategic Planning Committee, chairs the New Technologies Directions Committee and holds the position of vice president of the Publication Services and Products Board. Among her many other leadership roles, she has served as vice president of the Technical Activities Board and as president of the IEEE Signal Processing Society.

In addition to her current positions as professor and associate dean at Purdue, Jamieson is co-founder and director of the Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS) undergraduate engineering design program, which was initiated at Purdue and has been adopted by 17 universities. For her work with EPICS, she was co-recipient of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering’s Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education. She has served on advisory committees of the National Science Foundation and on the Board of Directors of the Computing Research Association. She is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering.

Other Officers Named

The following candidate was selected as division delegate/division director for 2006-2007:
The following candidates were selected as division delegate-elect/director-elect for 2006:

  • Division II, Thomas G. Habetler
  • Division IV, Edward Della Torre
  • Division VI, Irving Engelson
  • Division VIII, Thomas W. Williams
  • Division X, William A. Gruver.

They will take office as division delegate/director on 1 Jan. 2007.




Leah H. Jamieson
Gerald H. Peterson
James M. Tien


Leah H. JamiesonLEAH H. JAMIESON
(Nominated by IEEE Board of Directors)

Purdue University
West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Website:  http://www.ece.purdue.edu/~lhj/IEEE

Gerald H. PetersonGERALD H. PETERSON
(Nominated by IEEE Board of Directors)

Senior Manager Emeritus
Lucent Technologies – Bell Labs
Flemington, New Jersey

For more information see: http://ghpeterson.home.att.net.

James M. TienJAMES M. TIEN (Nominated by Petition)

Yamada Corporation Professor
Department of Electrical, Computer and Systems Engineering
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Troy, New York

Website: http://www.jimtien.com



Edward Della Torre
Ralph H. Justus


(Nominated by Division IV)

George Washington University
Washington, DC


Ralph H. JustusRALPH H. JUSTUS
(Nominated by Division IV)

Vice President, Technology and Standards
Consumer Electronics Association
Arlington, Virginia


2005 IEEE Annual Elections Candidates

Candidates whose names will appear on the 2005 IEEE Annual Election Ballot are listed below. Links to candidates's personal web sites will be created as they become available. These links point to a candidate's personal web site and do not necessarily reflect the opinion or position of the Institute.

* Candidate nominated by petition

Position Candidate
IEEE President-Elect, 2006

Leah H. Jamieson
Gerald H. Peterson
James M. Tien*

Division II Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006

Thomas G. Habetler
Robert E. Hebner, Jr.

Division IV Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006

Edward Della Torre
Ralph H. Justus

Division VI Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006

Irving Engelson
Jeffrey M. Voas

Division VII Delegate/Director, 2006-2007

H. Peter Lips
Hans B. (Teddy) Püttgen
W.O. (Bill) Kennedy*

Division VIII Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006

Gerald L. Engel
Gene F. Hoffnagle
Thomas W. Williams

Division X Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006

John D. (Douglas) Birdwell
William A. Gruver

Region 1 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006-2007

Howard E. Michel
Charles P. Rubenstein

Region 3 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006-2007

Eric S. Ackerman
William B. Ratcliff
Clarence L. (Lee) Stogner

Region 5 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006-2007

Francis B. Grosz, Jr.
David J. Pierce

Region 7 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006-2007

Gerard M. Dunphy
Eric Holdrinet
Maike Luiken Miller
Ferial El-Hawary*
Vijay K. Sood*

Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006

Gerhard P. Hancke
Jean G. (Jean-Gabriel) Remy

Region 9 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2006-2007

Enrique E. Alvarez
Juan R. (Ramon) Falcon
Enrique A. Tejera M.

Standards Association President-Elect, 2006

George W. Arnold
Raymond Hapeman
Forrest D. (Don) Wright

Standards Association Board of Governors
Member-at-Large, 2006-2007

Paul Nikolich
Carl R. Stevenson

Standards Association Board of Governors
Member-at-Large, 2006-2007

L.B. (Bruce) McClung
T.W. Olsen

Technical Activities Vice President-Elect, 2006

Jose R. (Roberto) Boisson de  Marca
Peter W. Staecker

IEEE-USA President-Elect, 2006

Russell J. Lefevre
John W. Meredith

IEEE-USA Member-at-Large, 2006-2007

Burton J. Loupee
Gregg L. Vaughn