The Distinguished Lecturer (DL) program of the IEEE Magnetics Society has been in existence for a number of years. On an annual basis, three DLs are nominated and funded by the Magnetics Society to deliver a lecture by invitation of individual institutions or chapters. At the recent AdCom meeting an outline of the formal aims of the program were discussed and approved.

It is hoped that the adoption and pursuit of these aims will enhance the alreadysignificant contribution of the DL program to the vitality of the Magnetics Society and the field of magnetics overall.

  1. The aims of the DL Programme

  2. Criteria for Selection

  3. Given the aims of the DL programme there are two principal criteria for awarding DL’s to dynamic individuals with a strong presence in their field. Moreover, he outreach aims of the programme also suggest further secondary criteria.

This year we have an excellent set of DL’s giving talks on 3 diverse areas:

Further details of their talks, in addition to brief biographies, can be found in the following section. The DL’s are currently in the process of finalizing their plans for the second half of the year, so if you are interested in having one (or more) talk in your location, now would be a good time to issue the invitation! Please contact the DL’s directly for their availability or contact the DL coordinator (Roy Chantrell, rc502@york.ac.uk) for further information or help with arrangements. Roy would also be happy to receive comments on the aims of the program and any suggestions for its further development. He would also be interested in hearing of innovative use of the program, so as to be able to circulate examples of good practice. As one example, the UK chapter has a record of organizing ‘topical meetings’ around the visit of a DL, in which the DL presentation is complimented by a further 2-3 invited talks within the same area. These meetings have proven extremely popular and made the magnetics society very attractive to UK magneticians.

Finally, the success of the DL program was founded on the efforts of previous coordinators (Isaak Mayergoyz and Stan Charap). On behalf of the membership, the awards committee chair (Bruce Gurney) and Roy Chantrell would like to record their appreciation of a job well done by Isaak and Stan in creating a lively and effective program with its enormous contribution to the activities of the Magnetics Society.

Roy Chantrell

Coordinator, IEEE Distinguished Lecturer Program

Physics Department
York University
York, YO10 5DD, UK
Email: rc502@york.ac.uk