Ron Goldfarb

Ron Goldfarb

National Institute of Standards & Technology
IEEE Region
Region 05 (Southwestern U.S.)
Technical Area
Biomagnetics, Life Sciences and Applications, Magnetic Nanoparticles, Magnetic Oxides, Nanomagnetism, Research
Spoken Languages



Contact Menu

Ron works in the Physical Measurement Laboratory of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Boulder, Colorado, USA. His research is in magnetic metrology, magnetic nanoparticles, and superconductor losses. He was the leader of the NIST Magnetics Group and was the chief editor of the Journal of Research of NIST. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and a member of the IEEE Eta Kappa Nu Honor Society. He was the editor-in-chief of IEEE Transactions on Magnetics, was the founder and chief editor of IEEE Magnetics Letters, and led the establishment of IEEE Transactions on Quantum Engineering. He received the IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Service Award and the IEEE Council on Superconductivity Max Swerdlow award.

IEEE Magnetics Society Position History:
  • Present   President-Elect (Officers)
  • Present   Council on Superconductivity Representatives (Non-voting Positions )
  • Present   Associate Publications Chair (IEEE Transactions on Magnetics Editorial Committee)
  • Present   Associate Publications Chair (Publications Committee Roster)
  • Present   Oral History Committee Members (MagSoc Oral History Project Committee)
  • 2023-Present   Planning, Constitution & Bylaws Committee Chair (Planning, Constitution & Bylaws Committee)
  • 2023-Present   Ad hoc Subcommittee Members (Planning, Constitution & Bylaws Committee)
  • Past   IEEE Transactions on Quantum Engineering, Steering Committee Member (Publications Committee Roster)
  • Past   Member (Planning, Constitution & Bylaws Committee)
  • 2019-2020   Publications Committee Chair (IEEE Transactions on Magnetics Editorial Committee)
  • 2019-2020   Publications Committee Chair (Publications Committee Roster)
  • 2011-2011   Fellows Technical Evaluation Subcommittee Chair (Honors and Awards Committee)
  • 2011-2011   Fellows Technical Evaluation Subcommittee Chair (Fellows Evaluation Subcommittee)
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.