Yacine Amara

University of LeHavre
IEEE Region
Region 08 (Africa, Europe, Middle East)

Contact Menu

Yacine Amara has graduated as electrical engineer from the "Ecole Nationale Polytechnique" of Algiers (Algeria) in 1997. In 1998, he began his doctoral thesis work on hybrid excited synchronous machines at the SATIE laboratory. After obtaining his Ph.D. on Applied Physics from the "Université de Paris-Sud" in December 2001, he joined the university as a temporary lecturer from January to August 2002. From October 2002 to March 2003, he held a post-doctoral position at SATIE working on the Power Optimized Aircraft European Project. 

He joined the University of Sheffield (UK) (Electrical Machines & Drives (EMD) group), as a research associate, in March 2003. He worked on the Free Piston Energy Converter European Project. In September 2004, he joined the "Université de Technologie de Belfort-Montbéliard" (France) as a lecturer in the Department of Electrical Engineering, and he was doing his research work at the L2ES laboratory. In February 2008, he joined the "Université du Havre", where he is teaching electrical engineering at the Department of Science and Technology, and doing his research work at the GREAH laboratory. He became Professor of electrical engineering in September 2017. 

His research activity is mainly focused on the electrical machines and actuators modelling, analysis, and design. He published many contributions on the design, analysis, and control of radial field hybrid excited synchronous machines. 

He is member of the IEEE Magnetics Society since 13 years. He is regularly publishing his work in the IEEE Transactions on Magnetics. He is active in the ProComm of INTERMAG conference since many years. He has been member of the IEEE Magnetics Society Technical Committee from late 2013 to the beginning of 2017.

IEEE Magnetics Society Position History:
  • Present   Editor, Transactions on Magnetics (IEEE Transactions on Magnetics Editorial Committee)
  • Present   Editor, Transactions on Magnetics (Publications Committee Roster)
  • 2024-Present   Secretary (Standards Committee Roster)
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.