Award/Recognition Menu


The IEEE Reynold B. Johnson Information Storage Systems Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1992.

It is named in honor of Reynold B. Johnson, who is renowned as a pioneer of magnetic disk technology and was founding manager of the IBM San Jose Research and Engineering Laboratory, San Jose, California in 1952, where IBM research and development in the field was centered.

Recipient selection was administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

The award was discontinued in 2016.

Previously Known as "IEEE Magnetics Society Information Storage Award"

IEEE Reynold B. Johnson Information Storage Device Technology Award

2010, David Bogy
2009, Kinam Kim
2008 Stanley H. Charap
2007 Mason L. Williams
2006 Eliyahou Harari, Sanjay Mehrotra and Jack Yuan

IEEE Reynold B. Johnson Information Storage Systems Award

2015 Dov Moran, Amir Ban, and Simon Litsyn
2014 John K. Ousterhout and Mendel Rosenblum
2013 Michael L. Kazar
2012 Naoya Takahashi
2011 Not awarded
2010 Moshe Yanai
2009 Marshall Kirk McKusick
2008 Alan J. Smith
2007 Dave Hitz and James Lau
2006 Jaishankar M. Menon
2005 Francois Dolivo 

Reynold B. Johnson Information Storage Technology IEEE Field Award

2004· Bruce Gurney and Virgil Speriosu
2003· H. Neal Bertram
2002· Christopher Bajorek
2001· Tu Chen
2000· Mark Kryder
1999· David A. Patterson, Randy M. Katz, Garth Gibson
1998· Jean-Pierre Lazzari
1997· Alan F. Shugart
1996· Nobutake Imamura
1995· James U. Lemke
1994· C. Denis Mee
1993· John Harker

IEEE Magnetics Society Information Storage Award

1992  Claude Shannon
1991  Charles H. Coleman
1990  Marvin Camras
1989  Reynold B. Johnson
1988  Jay W. Forrester
1987  Sidney M. Rubens

Historical Background



No recipients available.